Establishment UTC@harbourside

URN: 141394

University technical college

Download establishment data

Railway Approach, Newhaven, East Sussex, BN9 0DF
Local authority:
East Sussex (845)
Lisa Jepson
Age range: Help with this field
14 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
University technical college
Single academy trust:
Academy sponsor:
Aldridge Education
Gender of entry:
URN: 141394, DfE number: 845/4005
UKPRN: 10053986
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Not recorded
Ofsted rating:
Special Measures (Last inspection: 23 May 2018)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Not recorded
Religious ethos:
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Section 41 approved:
Not applicable
Open date / Reason:
New Provision
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not recorded
Special classes:
Not applicable
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Dianne Smith Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 28/09/2017 28/09/2021


Name Appointed by From To
Barry Leigh Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 18/01/2018 18/01/2022
Rebecca Cook Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 17/10/2017 17/10/2021
David Timson Appointed by GB/board 10/09/2017 10/09/2021
Dianne Smith Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 16/07/2015 31/08/2019
Allan Key N/A 16/07/2015 Not recorded
Richard Lavender N/A 16/07/2015 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Jennifer Rowlands N/A 12/11/2012
Julian Crampton N/A 12/11/2012
Rodney Aldridge N/A 12/11/2012

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Lisa Jepson 01/08/2017 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Aaron Barnard 01/06/2017 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Paul Bevan Chair of trustees Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 16/07/2015 10/09/2018
RSC Region:
South-East England and South London
Government Office Region:
South East
Newhaven Denton and Meeching
Parliamentary Constituency:
Urban/Rural Description:
Urban city and town
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Lewes 008
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Lewes 008C

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.