Establishment Cobham Free School

URN: 138226

Free schools

Download establishment data

Single-academy trust: COBHAM FREE SCHOOL TRUST

Skip map
Portsmouth Road, Cobham, Surrey, KT11 1TF
Local authority
Surrey (936)
Headteacher / Principal
Mrs Michaela Khatib
Phase of education
School type
Free schools
Single-academy trust
Gender of entry
URN: 138226, DfE number: 936/2006
UKPRN: 10037490
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 14 September 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
Religious ethos
No boarders
Nursery provision
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
15 August 2012
Reason establishment opened
New Provision
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
Not applicable
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
24 November 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Howard Royston Morris Appointed by academy members 6 April 2020 5 April 2024


Name Appointed by From To
Tanya Lightbody Appointed by academy members 30 October 2021 29 October 2025
Catherine Ann Beddison Appointed by GB/board 19 January 2017 18 January 2025
Helen Louise Hutton-Attenborough Appointed by academy members 25 August 2020 24 August 2024
Charles Robert Maynard Andrews Appointed by GB/board 11 July 2020 10 July 2024
Ashleigh Saunders Appointed by academy members 2 April 2020 1 April 2024
Julia Clare Rangasamy Appointed by academy members 21 November 2019 25 November 2023
Rafil Hamid Khatib Appointed by academy members 22 May 2019 22 May 2023
Robert Graeme Staegemann Elected by parents 20 October 2020 19 October 2022
Nicholas James Cogswell Elected by parents 16 October 2020 15 October 2022
Michaela Ruth Khatib Appointed by academy members 8 May 2018 7 May 2022


Name Appointed by From
Howard Royston Morris Appointed by academy members 23 June 2012
Ian Clifford Appointed by academy members 21 November 2019
Janet Mary Poppe Appointed by academy members 6 April 2012
Julia Clare Rangasamy Appointed by academy members 11 February 2012
Rafil Hamid Khatib Foundation/sponsor members 23 May 2011
Robert Sturges Appointed by academy members 20 August 2020
Stephen David Heard Appointed by academy members 20 August 2020

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Michaela Ruth Khatib 23 May 2011 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Catherine Marcus 6 April 2012 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Richard Parsons Trustee Appointed by academy members 28 March 2018 19 October 2021
Miles Stewart Unwin Trustee Appointed by academy members 17 November 2020 16 September 2021
Ian Smith Trustee Appointed by academy members 18 January 2018 4 December 2020
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
South-East England and South London
Government office region (GOR)
South East
Oxshott and Stoke D'Abernon
Parliamentary constituency
Esher and Walton
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban city and town
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Elmbridge 017
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Elmbridge 017F
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.