Establishment The Cowplain School

URN: 138038

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Single-academy trust: THE COWPLAIN SCHOOL

Skip map
Hart Plain Avenue, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Hampshire, PO8 8RY
Local authority
Hampshire (850)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr Ian Gates
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Single-academy trust
Gender of entry
URN: 138038, DfE number: 850/4110
UKPRN: 10036689
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 26 June 2018)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Not applicable
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 April 2012
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
27 September 2021
Type of SEN provision
SpLD - Specific Learning Difficulty
Type of resourced provision
Resourced provision
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Stephen Head Appointed by GB/board 24 March 2020 30 March 2024


Name Appointed by From To
Claudiu Dacin Elected by school staff 13 July 2021 12 July 2025
Laura Ashley Elected by school staff 13 July 2021 12 July 2025
Lorraine Harbour Appointed by GB/board 24 March 2020 30 March 2024
Susan Young Appointed by GB/board 24 March 2020 30 March 2024
Rachel Claire Hammond Elected by parents 7 May 2019 6 May 2023
Christopher Scott Appointed by GB/board 1 May 2018 30 April 2022
Tewari Bhanumattee Appointed by GB/board 27 March 2018 26 March 2022
Glenn Taylor Elected by parents 27 November 2017 26 November 2021
Ian Gates Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 May 2013 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Glenn Taylor Appointed by academy members 2 July 2019
Lorraine Harbour Appointed by academy members 27 February 2018
Stephen Head Original (signatory) members 17 February 2012
Susan Young Appointed by academy members 1 December 2016

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Ian Gates 1 May 2013 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Deborah Pidgeon 4 May 2021 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Shane Osborne Trustee Elected by parents 4 March 2021 13 July 2021
Lee Berrecloth Trustee Elected by school staff 17 February 2012 4 May 2021
Lee Berrecloth Trustee Elected by school staff 5 December 2017 4 May 2021
Ian Gates Chief financial officer N/A 1 May 2013 3 May 2021
Ebrahim Hosseini-Ashrafi Trustee Appointed by GB/board 2 July 2019 29 September 2020
Michael Holding Trustee Appointed by GB/board 1 May 2018 29 September 2020
Michael Holding Trustee Appointed by GB/board 1 May 2018 29 September 2020
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
South-East England and South London
Government office region (GOR)
South East
Hart Plain
Parliamentary constituency
Meon Valley
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban city and town
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Havant 003
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Havant 003B
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.