Establishment The Norton Knatchbull School

URN: 138019

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Hythe Road, Ashford, Kent, TN24 0QJ
Local authority:
Kent (886)
Mr Ben Greene
Age range: Help with age range field
11 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
Academy converter
Single-academy trust:
Gender of entry:
URN: 138019, DfE number: 886/4528
UKPRN: 10036999
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Website: Opens in new window
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 21 March 2017)
Ofsted report Opens in new window
Data from other services:
Religious character:
Not applicable
Religious ethos:
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with school capacity field
Number of pupils:
Section 41 approved:
Not applicable
Open date / Reason:
Academy Converter
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not recorded
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: Opens in new window

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Simon Hallam Appointed by foundation/Trust 04/04/2020 03/04/2024


Name Appointed by From To
Neil Munro Appointed by GB/board 22/05/2020 22/05/2024
Andrew Judd Elected by parents 04/03/2020 03/03/2024
Thomas William Saville Elected by parents 03/06/2019 02/06/2023
Marianne Highwood Appointed by GB/board 13/03/2019 12/03/2023
William Trafford Elected by school staff 13/03/2019 12/03/2023
Simon Hallam Appointed by foundation/Trust 01/01/2015 31/12/2022
Jane Burnett Appointed by GB/board 12/10/2018 11/10/2022
Winston Michael Appointed by GB/board 24/09/2018 23/09/2022
Johnny Holland Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2014 31/08/2022
Simon Eric Wratten Appointed by academy members 18/07/2017 17/07/2021
Lindsey Tinker Elected by parents 03/01/2017 02/01/2021
NATASHA THOMPSON Elected by school staff 03/05/2016 30/09/2020
Ben Greene Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/09/2019 Not recorded
MICHAEL-JOHN KNATCHBULL Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 07/07/2000 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Anthony Trilsbach Appointed by academy members 02/02/2019
DAVID RACE Appointed by GB/board 03/03/2017
NEIL McClure Appointed by academy members 19/09/2014
Richard Fraser Appointed by academy members 12/02/2019

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Ben Greene 01/09/2019 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Ann Griggs 01/09/2019 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
David Race Chair of trustees Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2016 03/04/2020
DAVID RACE Trustee Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 13/09/2016 03/04/2020
Neil McClure Trustee Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2014 31/12/2019
MARTYN JOHN OSMUNDSEN Trustee Elected by parents 11/04/2016 11/09/2019
PAUL BROWN Trustee Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 01/01/2015 11/09/2019
Peter Edgley Chief financial officer N/A 16/07/2018 31/08/2019
Sue Kelly Trustee Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/01/2019 31/08/2019
Sue Kelly Accounting officer N/A 01/01/2019 31/08/2019
RSC Region:
South-East England and South London
Government Office Region:
South East
Parliamentary Constituency:
Urban/Rural Description:
Urban city and town
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Ashford 005
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Ashford 005C

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.