Establishment Cartmel Priory CofE School

URN: 137338

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Headless Cross, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Cumbria, LA11 7SA
Local authority
Cumbria (909)
Headteacher / Principal
Sarah Beestone
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Gender of entry
URN: 137338, DfE number: 909/5410
UKPRN: 10035010
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 28 March 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Church of England
Diocese of Carlisle
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Not applicable
Official sixth form
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 September 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
10 November 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Louise Mary Shrapnel Foundation/sponsor members 1 July 2021 10 January 2023


Name Appointed by From To
Claire Unsworth Elected by parents 1 October 2021 30 September 2025
Christopher Brian Mason Appointed by foundation/Trust 1 September 2021 31 August 2025
Sarah Alice Shires Elected by school staff 1 September 2021 31 August 2025
Steven Gray Bell Foundation/sponsor members 18 January 2013 17 January 2025
Christine Jennings Elected by school staff 1 October 2020 30 September 2024
Nicholas Edward Devenish Foundation/sponsor members 26 September 2019 25 September 2023
Gemma Louise Brown Elected by school staff 1 September 2015 30 June 2023
Susan Dean Foundation/sponsor members 1 September 2011 10 June 2022
Irene Allan Foundation/sponsor members 28 February 2014 27 February 2022
Sarah Beestone Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 September 2019 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Carlisle Diocesan Board of Finance Carlisle Diocesan Board of Finance Any additional members appointed by the members of the academy trust 1 September 2011
James Newcome Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 1 September 2011
Louise Shrapnel Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 1 July 2021
Vernon Ross Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 1 February 2017

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Sarah Beestone 1 September 2019 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Joanne Coulston 1 September 2011 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Belinda Ann Heyes Trustee Elected by school staff 1 September 2017 31 August 2021
Penelope Hollander Trustee Appointed by GB/board 1 September 2020 31 August 2021
Dorothy Lownds Chair of trustees Foundation/sponsor members 2 December 2019 30 June 2021
Louise Mary Shrapnel Trustee Foundation/sponsor members 6 August 2014 30 June 2021
Ian George Trustee Elected by parents 22 September 2017 25 June 2021
Simon Hamilton McCleery Trustee Foundation/sponsor members 5 February 2018 12 May 2021
Diane Margaret Davies Trustee Elected by parents 1 September 2017 21 April 2021
Andrew Graham Robinson Trustee Appointed by foundation/Trust 23 January 2017 22 January 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
North of England
Government office region (GOR)
North West
South Lakeland
Parliamentary constituency
Westmorland and Lonsdale
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural village
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Middle super output area (MSOA)
South Lakeland 013
Lower super output area (LSOA)
South Lakeland 013A
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.