Establishment Vandyke Upper School

URN: 137169

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Vandyke Road, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, LU7 3DY
Local authority:
Central Bedfordshire (823)
Mr Tim Carroll
Age range: Help with this field
13 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
Academy converter
Single academy trust:
Gender of entry:
URN: 137169, DfE number: 823/4096
UKPRN: 10034855
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 03 May 2018)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Not applicable
Religious ethos:
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision:
Not applicable
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Section 41 approved:
Not applicable
Open date / Reason:
Academy Converter
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not recorded
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
David Packer Appointed by GB/board 21/07/2014 20/07/2022


Name Appointed by From To
Timothy Carroll Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 20/06/2011 11/10/2030
Annalisa Morris Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 01/04/2019 31/03/2023
Alison Packer Appointed by GB/board 09/02/2015 08/02/2023
Gayle Alexandra Baker Elected by parents 29/10/2018 28/10/2022
David Packer Appointed by GB/board 21/07/2014 20/07/2022
Susan Howley Appointed by GB/board 21/07/2014 20/07/2022
Maxine Ward Appointed by GB/board 18/12/2017 17/12/2021
Ruth Samet Elected by school staff 21/10/2017 20/10/2021
Annabel Ashwell Elected by parents 28/09/2017 27/09/2021
Martin Feinhols Appointed by GB/board 28/09/2017 27/09/2021
Wayne Stiller Elected by parents 28/09/2017 27/09/2021
Iain Holloway-McLean Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 12/12/2016 11/12/2020
Nicola Tooman Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 12/12/2016 11/12/2020
Catrin Green Elected by school staff 10/10/2016 09/10/2020
Samantha Peplow Elected by school staff 21/09/2015 20/09/2019
John Hassall Appointed by GB/board 18/05/2015 17/05/2019


Name Appointed by From
Ann Gomersall Original (signatory) members 20/06/2011
David Packer Original (signatory) members 20/06/2011
Timothy Carroll Original (signatory) members 20/06/2011

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Tim Carroll 20/06/2011 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Helen O'Connell 01/08/2018 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Ronald Turner Trustee Appointed by GB/board 19/10/2015 08/01/2019
Ian Sandiford Trustee Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 12/12/2016 15/10/2018
Dean Robert Johnson Chief financial officer N/A 01/01/2018 31/07/2018
David Packer Chair of trustees Appointed by GB/board 21/07/2014 20/07/2018
RSC Region:
North-West London and South-Central England
Government Office Region:
East of England
Central Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard North
Parliamentary Constituency:
South West Bedfordshire
Urban/Rural Description:
Urban city and town
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Central Bedfordshire 020
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Central Bedfordshire 020A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.