Establishment St Mary's Catholic Primary School

URN: 137147

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Bessemer Road East, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN2 1PE
Local authority
Swindon (866)
Headteacher / Principal
Mrs Rachael Weaver
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Gender of entry
URN: 137147, DfE number: 866/5220
UKPRN: 10034613
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 16 January 2019)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Roman Catholic
Diocese of Clifton
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Not applicable
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 August 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
5 July 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Anne-Marie Long Appointed by foundation/Trust 23 September 2019 22 September 2023


Name Appointed by From To
Jessica Hopewell Elected by school staff 13 November 2020 12 November 2024
Temi Peterside Elected by parents 20 October 2020 19 October 2024
Joseph Szymanski Appointed by GB/board 1 July 2020 30 June 2024
George Abraham Appointed by foundation/Trust 22 June 2020 21 June 2024
Sam Corbett Elected by school staff 1 September 2019 31 August 2023
Paula Paniagua-Mora Appointed by foundation/Trust 9 July 2019 8 July 2023
Patricia Harrison Appointed by foundation/Trust 5 July 2019 4 July 2023
Irene Kahan Elected by parents 23 May 2019 22 May 2023
Hannah Higgins Appointed by foundation/Trust 15 March 2019 14 March 2023
John Bevan Appointed by foundation/Trust 4 December 2017 3 December 2021
Philip Harman Appointed by foundation/Trust 4 December 2017 3 December 2021
Rachael Weaver Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 25 March 2021 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Anne-Marie Long Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 19 September 2018
Declan Lang Original (signatory) members 7 July 2011

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Rachael Weaver 2 March 2021 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Claire Janisch 1 September 2018 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
John Clifford Trustee Appointed by foundation/Trust 1 September 2017 28 May 2021
Andrew Henstridge Trustee Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 May 2015 1 March 2021
Andrew Henstridge Accounting officer N/A 7 January 2016 1 March 2021
Colm McCavera Trustee Elected by school staff 1 October 2016 30 September 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
South-West England
Government office region (GOR)
South West
Rodbourne Cheney
Parliamentary constituency
North Swindon
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban city and town
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Swindon 012
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Swindon 012E

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.