Establishment John Masefield High School

URN: 136803

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Mabel's Furlong, Ledbury, Herefordshire, HR8 2HF
Local authority
Herefordshire, County of (884)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr Andrew Evans
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Gender of entry
URN: 136803, DfE number: 884/4058
UKPRN: 10033811
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 19 September 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Not applicable
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 June 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
Has Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
9 February 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Lucy Potter Elected by parents 3 December 2019 9 June 2021


Name Appointed by From To
Rachel Suan Ussher Appointed by academy members 31 January 2021 30 January 2025
Thomas Williams Appointed by academy members 1 December 2020 30 November 2024
Joanne Hartness Appointed by GB/board 19 May 2020 19 May 2024
Andrew William Collard Elected by school staff 19 May 2020 10 May 2024
Roger Gareth William Price Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 17 January 2020 17 January 2024
Robert Glyn Jenkins Appointed by GB/board 22 October 2019 21 October 2023
Penelope Louise Seaborn-Williams Appointed by academy members 4 December 2018 26 February 2022
Philippa Rose Henry Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 11 July 2017 10 July 2021
Lucy Rachel Potter Elected by parents 9 June 2017 8 June 2021
Andrew Martin Evans Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 31 May 2011 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Emma Carr Appointed by academy members 23 June 2015
Helen Maureen Thomas Appointed by academy members 8 October 2013
Justyn Crane Appointed by academy members 9 December 2014
Kevin Welford Appointed by academy members 29 January 2016
Lucy Potter Appointed by academy members 3 December 2019

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Andrew Evans 31 May 2011 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Sarah Meredith Thomas 7 November 2012 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Rachel Suan Ussher Trustee Appointed by GB/board 31 January 2017 30 January 2021
Julie Godfrey Trustee Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 17 January 2020 8 December 2020
Donald Bruce Henderson Trustee Elected by school staff 19 October 2016 17 October 2020
Jennifer Davies Trustee Elected by school staff 14 October 2016 13 October 2020
Philippa Rose Henry Member Appointed by academy members 8 October 2013 6 October 2020
Elizabeth Sybil Louise Ronan Trustee Appointed by academy members 4 December 2018 2 October 2020
Sam Oliver Charles Dudley Trustee Elected by parents 27 April 2016 26 April 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
West Midlands
Government office region (GOR)
West Midlands
Herefordshire, County of
Ledbury South
Parliamentary constituency
North Herefordshire
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural town and fringe
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Herefordshire 019
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Herefordshire 019C

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.