Establishment Sheldon School

URN: 136632

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Hardenhuish Lane, Chippenham, Wiltshire, SN14 6HJ
Local authority
Wiltshire (865)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr Neil Spurdell
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Single-academy trust
Gender of entry
URN: 136632, DfE number: 865/5404
UKPRN: 10033350
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 6 June 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Not applicable
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Not applicable
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 April 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
17 May 2021
Type of SEN provision
HI - Hearing Impairment
Type of resourced provision
Resourced provision
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Louise Carver Elected by parents 10 October 2019 16 March 2022


Name Appointed by From To
Susan Margaret Brentnall Elected by parents 13 May 2021 12 May 2025
Carol Ann Cradock Appointed by GB/board 4 April 2021 3 April 2025
Neville David Bloomer Elected by parents 22 March 2021 21 March 2025
Sarah Jayne Contardi Elected by parents 22 March 2021 21 March 2025
Kathleen Janet Barnes Appointed by GB/board 4 January 2021 3 January 2025
Elizabeth Katherine Manzi Elected by school staff 14 November 2020 13 November 2024
Megan Elizabeth Owen Elected by school staff 16 July 2020 15 July 2024
Rosemary Margaret Jordan-Barr Elected by school staff 16 July 2020 15 July 2024
Timothy Robert Cradock Appointed by GB/board 8 July 2020 7 July 2024
Peter Charles Story Appointed by GB/board 20 May 2020 20 May 2024
Matthew James Davis Elected by parents 10 October 2019 10 October 2023
Katherine Eira Hathaway Appointed by GB/board 2 July 2019 2 July 2023
Samantha Sarah Sellwood Elected by school staff 18 June 2019 17 June 2023
Christopher Reynolds Appointed by GB/board 9 April 2019 8 April 2023
Nichola Claire Barnett Elected by parents 4 April 2019 3 April 2023
Kevin Mark Pearce Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 29 March 2018 29 March 2022
Neil Charles Spurdell Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 September 2012 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Craig Stewart Holden Appointed by GB/board 6 November 2019
Emma le Fleming Appointed by GB/board 6 November 2019
Louise Carver Appointed by GB/board 17 October 2017
Megan Jones Appointed by GB/board 9 December 2015
Tom Jacques Appointed by GB/board 9 December 2015

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Neil Spurdell 13 February 2014 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
James Couchman 12 August 2014 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Carol Ann Cradock Trustee Appointed by GB/board 5 April 2017 5 April 2021
Stuart David Walker Trustee Elected by parents 10 February 2017 10 February 2021
Siobhan Martina Randall Trustee Elected by parents 10 October 2019 3 December 2020
Elizabeth Katherine Manzi Trustee Elected by school staff 14 November 2016 14 November 2020
Margaret Sharon Wilson Trustee Elected by school staff 14 July 2016 14 July 2020
Trevor Ian Sparrow Trustee Elected by school staff 19 June 2019 19 June 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
South-West England
Government office region (GOR)
South West
Chippenham Hardenhuish
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban city and town
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Wiltshire 009
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Wiltshire 009E

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.