Establishment John Kyrle High School and Sixth Form Centre Academy

URN: 136399

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Ledbury Road, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, HR9 7ET
Local authority:
Herefordshire, County of (884)
Nigel Griffiths
Age range: Help with age range field
11 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
Academy converter
Single-academy trust:
Gender of entry:
URN: 136399, DfE number: 884/4428
UKPRN: 10032367
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Website: Opens in new window
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 14 March 2017)
Ofsted report Opens in new window
Data from other services:
Religious character:
Does not apply
Not applicable
Religious ethos:
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision:
Not applicable
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with school capacity field
Number of pupils:
Section 41 approved:
Not applicable
Open date / Reason:
Academy Converter
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not recorded
Special classes:
Has Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: Opens in new window

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Denise Joan Strutt Appointed by academy members 26/11/2015 09/10/2023


Name Appointed by From To
Lisa Chaplain Elected by parents 21/05/2019 21/05/2023
Matthew Way Elected by parents 21/05/2019 21/05/2023
Andrew Bailey Elected by parents 19/05/2015 19/05/2023
Julie Markey Elected by school staff 28/02/2019 28/02/2023
Katherine NIcholls Elected by school staff 28/02/2019 28/02/2023
Laura Ruth Salter Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 31/01/2019 31/01/2023
Helen Marie Mather Elected by school staff 25/01/2019 25/01/2023
Robert Wyn Leather Elected by parents 20/11/2018 20/11/2022
Diane Elizabeth Hudson Foundation/sponsor members 06/09/2018 06/09/2022
Andrew John Middlecote Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 08/02/2018 07/02/2022
Nicholas John Dale Appointed by GB/board 08/02/2018 07/02/2022
Brent Allen Vinall Appointed by GB/board 15/01/2018 14/01/2022
Timothy Murray Elected by parents 05/12/2017 04/12/2021
Robert Jones Elected by parents 28/11/2016 28/11/2020
David Potter Any additional members appointed by the members of the academy trust 13/09/2016 13/09/2020
Denise Strutt N/A 10/11/2015 Not recorded
Nigel Griffiths Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 09/12/2010 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Denise Joan Strutt Appointed by academy members 26/11/2015
Neil Barrington Pascoe Original (signatory) members 20/09/2018
Richard Stevenson N/A 01/01/2016

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Nigel Griffiths 09/12/2010 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Christine Bryan 01/09/2017 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Hayley Knapper Trustee Elected by school staff 14/07/2016 14/07/2020
Neil Barrington Pascoe Trustee Original (signatory) members 01/09/2018 10/12/2019
RSC Region:
West Midlands
Government Office Region:
West Midlands
Herefordshire, County of
Ross North
Parliamentary Constituency:
Hereford and South Herefordshire
Urban/Rural Description:
Urban city and town
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Herefordshire 022
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Herefordshire 022D

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.