Establishment Colyton Grammar School

URN: 136366

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Whitwell Lane, Colyford, Colyton, Devon, EX24 6HN
Local authority:
Devon (878)
Tim Harris
Age range: Help with age range field
11 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
Academy converter
Single-academy trust:
Gender of entry:
URN: 136366, DfE number: 878/5400
UKPRN: 10032334
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Website: Opens in new window
Ofsted rating:
No data available
Ofsted report Opens in new window
Data from other services:
Religious character:
Not applicable
Religious ethos:
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision:
Not applicable
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with school capacity field
Number of pupils:
Section 41 approved:
Not applicable
Open date / Reason:
Academy Converter
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not recorded
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: Opens in new window

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Barry John Sindall Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2017 31/08/2021


Name Appointed by From To
Julie Hawker Appointed by academy members 31/10/2019 30/10/2023
Anne Jane Clark Appointed by academy members 08/10/2019 07/10/2023
Kirsteen Hall Appointed by academy members 23/01/2019 22/01/2023
Christian Galvin Elected by parents 30/11/2018 29/11/2022
Jacqueline Spurrier Elected by parents 30/11/2018 29/11/2022
Timothy Dyer Elected by parents 30/11/2018 29/11/2022
Ian Styles Appointed by academy members 20/04/2018 19/04/2022
Isabel Knight Elected by parents 09/02/2018 08/02/2022
Andrew Gould Appointed by academy members 01/09/2017 31/08/2021
Barry John Sindall Appointed by academy members 01/09/2017 31/08/2021
Ian Griffin Appointed by academy members 31/05/2017 30/05/2021
Misty-Jane Nickells Appointed by academy members 09/09/2016 08/09/2020
Timothy Harris Appointed by academy members 01/09/2016 31/08/2020


Name Appointed by From
Andrew Moulding Appointed by academy members 19/09/2018
Barry John Sindall Appointed by academy members 01/09/2017
Christopher Bryan Appointed by academy members 01/11/2018
Martin Goscomb Appointed by academy members 01/09/2019
Steve Cook Appointed by academy members 31/10/2019

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Timothy Harris 01/09/2016 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Ryan Lewis 01/05/2017 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Julie Hawker Member Appointed by academy members 08/06/2018 30/10/2019
Christopher John Bastin Member Original (signatory) members 01/09/2017 01/09/2019
Martin John Goscomb Trustee Appointed by academy members 01/09/2015 31/08/2019
RSC Region:
South-West England
Government Office Region:
South West
East Devon
Coly Valley
Parliamentary Constituency:
Tiverton and Honiton
Urban/Rural Description:
Rural village
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
East Devon 007
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
East Devon 007B

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.