Establishment Keelman's Way School

URN: 136252

Foundation special school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Campbell Park Road, Hebburn, Tyne and Wear, NE31 1QY
Local authority
South Tyneside (393)
Headteacher / Principal
Paula Selby
Phase of education
Not applicable
School type
Foundation special school
Gender of entry
URN: 136252, DfE number: 393/7007
UKPRN: 10038784
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 3 October 2018)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Open date
1 September 2012
Reason establishment opened
Result of Amalgamation
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
Not applicable
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
30 March 2021
Type of SEN provision
SpLD - Specific Learning Difficulty, VI - Visual Impairment, OTH - Other Difficulty/Disability, HI - Hearing Impairment, SLCN - Speech, language and Communication, ASD - Autistic Spectrum Disorder, SEMH - Social, Emotional and Mental Health, MSI - Multi-Sensory Impairment, PD - Physical Disability, SLD - Severe Learning Difficulty and PMLD - Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulty
Type of resourced provision
Not applicable
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Phillip Johnson Foundation/sponsor members 19 October 2020 18 October 2024


Name Appointed by From To
Emily Jane Royle Elected by school staff 18 March 2017 18 March 2025
Jillian Mordue Appointed by GB/board 1 December 2020 30 November 2024
Melanie Waites Foundation/sponsor members 1 December 2020 30 November 2024
Sara Padden Elected by school staff 30 November 2020 29 November 2024
Brian May Elected by parents 16 November 2020 15 November 2024
Claire Christelow Elected by parents 16 November 2020 15 November 2024
John McCabe Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 6 November 2020 5 November 2024
Adrienne Moffett Elected by parents 11 February 2020 12 March 2024
Justin Laidler Appointed by GB/board 10 March 2020 9 March 2024
Dianne Staincliffe Appointed by GB/board 18 November 2014 17 November 2022
Paula Selby Original (signatory) members 5 November 2012 4 November 2022
Russ Saunders Appointed by GB/board 4 June 2017 3 June 2021

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Patricia Porthouse Governor Appointed by GB/board 5 November 2016 1 December 2020
John McCabe Governor Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 6 November 2016 5 November 2020
Adele Clark Governor Elected by parents 5 November 2016 4 November 2020
Claire Christelow Governor Elected by parents 5 November 2016 4 November 2020
Jillian Mordue Governor Elected by school staff 5 November 2016 4 November 2020
Melanie Waites Governor Appointed by GB/board 19 October 2016 18 October 2020
Phil Johnson Chair of governors Foundation/sponsor members 19 October 2016 18 October 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
North of England
Government office region (GOR)
North East
South Tyneside
Hebburn North
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban major conurbation
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
South Tyneside 009
Lower super output area (LSOA)
South Tyneside 009C

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.