Establishment Thurston Community College

URN: 124802

Community school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Norton Road, Thurston, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 3PB
Local authority:
Suffolk (935)
Miss Diane Helen Wilson
Age range: Help with age range field
11 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
Community school
Gender of entry:
URN: 124802, DfE number: 935/4024
UKPRN: 10006910
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Website: Opens in new window
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 23 March 2018)
Ofsted report Opens in new window
Data from other services:
Religious character:
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with school capacity field
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not applicable
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: Opens in new window

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Elizabeth Dunn Appointed by GB/board 30/09/2014 18/10/2022


Name Appointed by From To
Helen Aitchison Appointed by GB/board 12/02/2020 11/02/2024
Cler Hobbs Appointed by GB/board 13/12/2019 12/12/2023
Jo John Appointed by GB/board 13/02/2019 13/02/2023
Alice Evans Appointed by GB/board 30/09/2014 18/10/2022
Robert Lenko Appointed by GB/board 30/09/2014 18/10/2022
Fiona Louise Macaulay Appointed by GB/board 18/10/2018 17/10/2022
Tanya-Jane Sturman Appointed by GB/board 18/10/2018 17/10/2022
Robert Davie Appointed by GB/board 24/05/2018 23/05/2022
Diane Helen Wilson Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/09/2005 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Angela Branfield Governor Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2016 31/08/2020
David Webdale Governor Elected by school staff 01/09/2016 30/08/2020
Jayne Gurney Governor Elected by parents 05/02/2016 04/02/2020
RSC Region:
East of England and North-East London
Government Office Region:
East of England
Mid Suffolk
Parliamentary Constituency:
Bury St Edmunds
Urban/Rural Description:
Rural town and fringe
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Mid Suffolk 004
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Mid Suffolk 004D

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.