Establishment Elmsett Church of England VC Primary School

URN: 124695

Voluntary controlled school

Download establishment data

This establishment closed on 31 August 2021. View details of linked establishments

Skip map
The Street, Elmsett, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP7 6PA
Local authority
Suffolk (935)
Headteacher / Principal
Mrs Elaine Burdiss
Phase of education
School type
Voluntary controlled school
Gender of entry
URN: 124695, DfE number: 935/3020
UKPRN: 10078843
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 5 December 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Church of England
Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich
No boarders
Nursery provision
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils
Open date
Not recorded
Reason establishment opened
Not applicable
Closed date
31 August 2021
Reason establishment closed
Academy Converter
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
31 August 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not applicable
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of governors

Not recorded


Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Andrea Newman Governor Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 3 May 2016 30 August 2021
Andrew Rowe Governor Appointed by GB/board 30 August 2019 30 August 2021
Anne Gardner Governor Appointed by LA 18 October 2018 30 August 2021
Frances Kearn Governor Elected by school staff 25 September 2019 30 August 2021
Jane Hyde Chair of governors Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 27 March 2018 30 August 2021
Nigel Askew Governor Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 3 May 2016 30 August 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
East of England and North-East London
Government office region (GOR)
East of England
South East Cosford
Parliamentary constituency
South Suffolk
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural village
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Babergh 004
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Babergh 004F
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.