Establishment Weston Rhyn Primary School

URN: 123403

Community school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Old Chirk Road, Weston Rhyn, Oswestry, Shropshire, SY10 7SR
Local authority
Shropshire (893)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr David Peterson
Phase of education
School type
Community school
Gender of entry
URN: 123403, DfE number: 893/2110
UKPRN: 10069252
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 14 March 2018)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils
Open date
Not recorded
Reason establishment opened
Not applicable
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not applicable
Special classes
Not applicable
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
19 May 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Janet Kelly Appointed by LA 1 September 2019 18 May 2023


Name Appointed by From To
Karen Phillips Elected by parents 18 March 2021 18 March 2025
John Burke Appointed by LA 18 May 2000 12 October 2024
Helen Gilbert Appointed by GB/board 24 October 2019 24 October 2023
Tracey Derham Elected by school staff 24 October 2019 24 October 2023
(John) Alwyn Hughes Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 18 May 2012 18 May 2023
Graham Richard French Appointed by GB/board 1 September 2019 18 May 2023
Steve Latham-White Appointed by GB/board 18 March 2019 18 March 2023
Wendy Newman Elected by parents 18 March 2019 18 March 2023
Sarah Fairclough Elected by parents 15 April 2014 15 April 2022

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Carolyne Wood Governor Elected by parents 23 October 2014 14 September 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
West Midlands
Government office region (GOR)
West Midlands
Gobowen, Selattyn and Weston Rhyn
Parliamentary constituency
North Shropshire
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural hamlet and isolated dwellings
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Shropshire 003
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Shropshire 003F

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.