Establishment Thirsk School & Sixth Form College

URN: 121666

Community school

Download establishment data

Topcliffe Road, Sowerby, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, YO7 1RZ
Local authority:
North Yorkshire (815)
Miss Emma Lambden
Age range: Help with this field
11 to 18
Phase of education:
School type:
Community school
Gender of entry:
URN: 121666, DfE number: 815/4035
UKPRN: 10006883
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 28 March 2017)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Has a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Gillian Donald Appointed by GB/board 12/10/2004 05/02/2023


Name Appointed by From To
John Potter Appointed by GB/board 11/10/2004 05/02/2023
Guy Baragwanath Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 31/08/2013 31/08/2021
Owain Pierce-Williams Elected by school staff 09/01/2017 09/01/2021
Gillian Thornton Elected by parents 05/12/2016 05/12/2020
Jane Grainger Elected by parents 05/12/2016 05/12/2020
Anne Silver Appointed by GB/board 25/09/2018 24/09/2019
Irene Marwood Appointed by GB/board 25/09/2018 24/09/2019
Emma Lambden Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/04/2018 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Nicholas Stafford Governor Appointed by GB/board 27/03/2014 10/12/2018
Graham Cressey Governor Elected by parents 16/03/1990 06/06/2018
RSC Region:
North of England
Government Office Region:
Yorkshire and the Humber
Sowerby & Topcliffe
Parliamentary Constituency:
Thirsk and Malton
Urban/Rural Description:
Rural town and fringe in a sparse setting
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Hambleton 009
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Hambleton 009A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.