Establishment Swanton Abbott Community Primary School

URN: 120856

Community school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Youngman's Lane, Swanton Abbott, Norwich, Norfolk, NR10 5DZ
Local authority
Norfolk (926)
Headteacher / Principal
Mrs Emma Hamilton-Smith
Phase of education
School type
Community school
Gender of entry
URN: 120856, DfE number: 926/2153
UKPRN: 10078589
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 20 March 2018)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils
Open date
Not recorded
Reason establishment opened
Not applicable
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not applicable
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
8 October 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Sue Traverso Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 24 February 2020 23 February 2024


Name Appointed by From To
David Aston Elected by school staff 20 September 2021 20 September 2024
Melissa Ford Elected by parents 30 June 2021 30 June 2024
Jane Mosedale Appointed by GB/board 28 February 2020 28 February 2024
Maria Vincent Elected by parents 28 February 2020 28 February 2024
Emma Hamilton-Smith Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 3 January 2018 3 January 2024
Roland Talbot Appointed by GB/board 23 June 2019 23 June 2023

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Kelly Beales Governor Appointed by GB/board 29 January 2019 31 August 2021
Sarah Frost Governor Elected by school staff 5 December 2017 31 August 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
East of England and North-East London
Government office region (GOR)
East of England
North Norfolk
Parliamentary constituency
North Norfolk
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural village
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
North Norfolk 012
Lower super output area (LSOA)
North Norfolk 012D
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.