Establishment Whittlefield Primary School

URN: 119262

Community school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Tabor Street, Burnley, Lancashire, BB12 0HL
Local authority:
Lancashire (888)
Headteacher / Principal:
Mrs Helen Kershaw
Age range: Help with age range field
3 to 11
Phase of education:
School type:
Community school
Gender of entry:
URN: 119262, DfE number: 888/2235
UKPRN: 10076197
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Not applicable
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 08 February 2017)
Ofsted report Opens in new window
Religious character:
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision:
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Closed date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: Opens in new window

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Pauline Lacarz Appointed by GB/board 06/06/2018 05/02/2022


Name Appointed by From To
Julie Burnside Appointed by GB/board 18/10/2019 18/10/2023
Joanne McCue Appointed by GB/board 18/06/2019 18/06/2023
Rebecca Jones Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 18/06/2019 18/06/2023
Vicotria Jackson Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 18/06/2019 18/06/2023
Emma Payne Appointed by GB/board 30/10/2018 30/10/2022
Ruth Hodges Appointed by GB/board 30/10/2018 30/10/2022
Sonya Root Elected by school staff 22/06/2018 22/06/2022
David Smith Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 02/09/2013 02/09/2021
Helen Kershaw Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/04/2015 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Marie Demain Governor Appointed by GB/board 18/10/2019 23/09/2020
Stephanie Vent Governor Appointed by GB/board 26/06/2012 26/06/2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region:
Lancashire and West Yorkshire
Government office region (GOR):
North West
Parliamentary constituency:
Urban/rural description:
(England/Wales) Urban city and town
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code:
Census ward:
Middle super output area (MSOA):
Burnley 006
Lower super output area (LSOA):
Burnley 006A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.