The Bishop of Hereford's Bluecoat School

URN: 116991

Voluntary aided school

Download establishment data

Hampton Dene Road, Tupsley, Hereford, Herefordshire, HR1 1UU
Local authority:
Herefordshire (884)
Mr Martin Henton
Age range: Help with this field
11 to 16
Phase of education:
School type:
Voluntary aided school
Gender of entry:
URN: 116991, DfE number: 884/4600
UKPRN: 10017715
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Ofsted rating:
Requires improvement (Last inspection: 22 February 2017)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Church of England
Diocese of Hereford
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Does not have a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Special classes:
Has Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Type of SEN provision:
ASD - Autistic Spectrum Disorder
Type of resourced provision:
SEN Unit
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person’s suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of governors

Name Appointed by From To
Tim O'Byrne Appointed by GB/board 02/01/2018 02/01/2022


Name Appointed by From To
Eleanor Benson Appointed by GB/board 31/12/2017 30/12/2021
Claire Jinks Elected by parents 01/06/2017 30/05/2021
Gayle Scot Elected by parents 01/06/2017 30/05/2021
Rob Patterson Elected by parents 01/06/2017 30/05/2021
Liz Kearns Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 01/05/2017 30/04/2021
Steve Morgan Appointed by GB/board 01/05/2017 30/04/2021
Allan Davies Appointed by GB/board 01/01/2017 31/12/2020
Diane Farmer Appointed by GB/board 01/12/2016 30/11/2020
Donna Yandle Elected by school staff 01/12/2016 30/11/2020
John Round Appointed by GB/board 01/12/2016 30/11/2020
Nick Armstrong Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 01/09/2015 31/08/2019
Alison Woodcock Appointed by GB/board 01/03/2015 28/02/2019
Martin Henton Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/04/2018 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Name Role Appointed by From To
Tim O'Byrne Chair of governors Appointed by GB/board 02/01/2018 01/01/2018
RSC Region:
West Midlands
Government Office Region:
West Midlands
Herefordshire, County of
Parliamentary Constituency:
Hereford and South Herefordshire
Urban/Rural Description:
Urban city and town
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Herefordshire 014
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Herefordshire 014A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.