This establishment closed on 31/12/2017. View details of linked establishments

Dismiss this message

Chagford Church of England Primary School

URN: 113408

Voluntary controlled school

Download establishment data

Lower Street, Chagford, Newton Abbot, Devon, TQ13 8BZ
Local authority:
Devon (878)
Mrs Liz Wiseman
Age range: Help with this field
4 to 11
Phase of education:
School type:
Voluntary controlled school
Gender of entry:
URN: 113408, DfE number: 878/3151
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 09 February 2016)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Church of England
Diocese of Exeter
No boarders
Nursery provision:
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Does not have a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Close date / Reason:
Academy Converter
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person’s suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of governors

Not recorded


Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Name Role Appointed by From To
Alison Ruth Hirst Governor Appointed by GB/board 20/04/2016 30/12/2017
Catherine Mount Governor Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 10/02/2016 30/12/2017
Elizabeth Jane Wiseman Governor Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 22/04/2014 30/12/2017
Emma Jane Moore Governor Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 07/10/2015 30/12/2017
Gillian Caroline Smith Governor Appointed by GB/board 16/04/2015 30/12/2017
James Royston Warner Governor Appointed by GB/board 26/03/2015 30/12/2017
Katharine Sara Barrau Governor Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2014 30/12/2017
Lee Maurice Billinghurst Governor Elected by school staff 01/09/2016 30/12/2017
Paul Simon Seaton-Burn Governor Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 01/10/2016 30/12/2017
Sheila Mead Chair of governors Appointed by GB/board 31/03/2014 30/12/2017
Wesley Cutler Governor Appointed by foundation/Trust 17/07/2017 30/12/2017
RSC Region:
South-West England
Government Office Region:
South West
West Devon
Parliamentary Constituency:
Central Devon
Urban/Rural Description:
Rural town and fringe
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
West Devon 003
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
West Devon 003A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.