Establishment Cockwood Primary School

URN: 113194

Community school

Download establishment data

Cofton Hill, Cockwood, Exeter, Devon, EX6 8RB
Local authority:
Devon (878)
Mrs Lorraine Curry
Age range: Help with this field
4 to 11
Phase of education:
School type:
Community school
Gender of entry:
URN: 113194, DfE number: 878/2411
UKPRN: 10081300
Establishment status:
Open, but proposed to close
Admissions policy:
Not applicable
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 20 February 2018)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Does not have a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not applicable
Close date / Reason:
Academy Converter
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Nick Charles Tallamy Appointed by GB/board 10/12/2018 09/12/2022


Name Appointed by From To
Judith Alison McGrath Appointed by GB/board 10/12/2018 09/12/2022
Tania Anne Weeks Appointed by GB/board 10/12/2018 09/12/2022
Holly Hilliard Elected by school staff 08/11/2017 07/11/2021
Andrew Lawrence Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 20/07/2017 19/07/2021
Richard Anthony Crompton Appointed by GB/board 05/10/2016 04/10/2020
Glynis Buckle Appointed by GB/board 01/10/2015 30/09/2019
Lorraine Angela Curry Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/09/2010 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Roger Ian Hirst Governor Appointed by GB/board 19/03/2015 18/03/2019
RSC Region:
South-West England
Government Office Region:
South West
Dawlish Central and North East
Parliamentary Constituency:
Newton Abbot
Urban/Rural Description:
Rural village
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Teignbridge 005
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Teignbridge 005A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.