Establishment Aspull Church Primary School

URN: 106518

Voluntary aided school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Bolton Road, Wigan, Lancashire, WN2 1QT
Local authority:
Wigan (359)
Headteacher / Principal:
Mr Howard Smout
Phase of education:
School type:
Voluntary aided school
Gender of entry:
URN: 106518, DfE number: 359/3426
UKPRN: 10073724
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Not applicable
Ofsted rating:
Good (Last inspection: 02 March 2017)
Ofsted report Opens in new window
Religious character:
Church of England/Methodist
Diocese of Liverpool
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Closed date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
Type of resourced provision:
Not applicable
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: Opens in new window

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Andrea Jones Appointed by GB/board 04/07/2020 03/07/2024


Name Appointed by From To
Howard Smout Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2018 31/08/2065
Rebecca McCarren Appointed by foundation/Trust 22/09/2020 21/09/2024
Eric Grindrod Appointed by foundation/Trust 04/02/2020 02/02/2024
Sarah Sutton Appointed by GB/board 09/02/2019 07/02/2023
Richard Towle Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 12/11/2019 11/11/2022
Fay Lamb Elected by parents 10/10/2018 09/10/2022
Peter Lewis Appointed by foundation/Trust 01/09/2019 31/08/2022
Emma Gavin Elected by parents 08/11/2017 09/11/2021
Emma Harper Elected by school staff 31/10/2014 07/11/2021

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Miranda Nicholson Governor Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 23/11/2016 22/11/2020
Ruth Atherton Governor Appointed by GB/board 11/03/2016 09/03/2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region:
Lancashire and West Yorkshire
Government office region (GOR):
North West
Aspull New Springs Whelley
Parliamentary constituency:
Urban/rural description:
(England/Wales) Rural town and fringe
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code:
Census ward:
Middle super output area (MSOA):
Wigan 007
Lower super output area (LSOA):
Wigan 007A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.