Establishment Meols Cop High School

URN: 104956

Community school

Download establishment data

Meols Cop Road, Southport, Merseyside, PR8 6JS
Local authority:
Sefton (343)
Mr David Jones
Age range: Help with this field
11 to 16
Phase of education:
School type:
Community school
Gender of entry:
URN: 104956, DfE number: 343/4110
UKPRN: 10016912
Establishment status:
Admissions policy:
Ofsted rating:
Outstanding (Last inspection: 03 October 2012)
Ofsted report
Religious character:
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision:
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form:
Does not have a sixth form
School capacity: Help with this field
Number of pupils:
Open date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Close date / Reason:
Not recorded
Not applicable
Special classes:
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals: Help with this field
Date last changed / confirmed:
Type of SEN provision:
SpLD - Specific Learning Difficulty, OTH - Other Difficulty/Disability and ASD - Autistic Spectrum Disorder
Type of resourced provision:
SEN Unit
Resourced provision number on roll:
Resourced provision capacity:
SEN Unit number on roll:
SEN Unit capacity:

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them. This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context. The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role. You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download:

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Andrew McQueen Appointed by GB/board 01/11/2018 13/10/2020


Name Appointed by From To
Richard Hawkings Appointed by GB/board 07/03/2019 06/03/2021
Ian Bryan Appointed by GB/board 01/11/2018 31/10/2020
Clare Russell Elected by parents 02/10/2018 01/10/2020
Jonathan Allan Appointed by GB/board 02/10/2018 01/10/2020
Wendy Anne Senior Elected by school staff 01/10/2018 30/09/2020
John Bulmer Elected by parents 24/09/2018 23/09/2020
Kathryn Hibbert Elected by parents 24/09/2018 23/09/2020
Lesley Walker Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2018 31/08/2020
Stuart Rayner-Smith Elected by parents 05/12/2017 04/12/2019
Annette Peet Appointed by GB/board 02/10/2017 01/10/2019
Mark Brownett Appointed by GB/board 02/10/2017 01/10/2019
Zoe Suzanne Evans Appointed by GB/board 02/10/2017 01/10/2019
David Jones Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 01/09/2017 31/08/2019
David Pullin Appointed by GB/board 01/09/2017 31/08/2019

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Jonathan Allan Governor Appointed by GB/board 16/03/2017 15/03/2019
Richard Hawkings Governor Appointed by GB/board 19/01/2017 18/01/2019
Ian Bryan Governor Appointed by GB/board 03/11/2016 02/11/2018
Andrew McQueen Chair of governors Appointed by GB/board 14/10/2016 13/10/2018
Jeane Clarke Governor Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 05/10/2014 04/10/2018
Clare Russell Governor Elected by parents 02/10/2016 01/10/2018
Jennifer Filson Governor Elected by school staff 20/09/2016 19/09/2018
John Bulmer Governor Elected by parents 20/09/2016 19/09/2018
Lesley Walker Governor Elected by parents 11/10/2016 31/08/2018
RSC Region:
Lancashire and West Yorkshire
Government Office Region:
North West
Parliamentary Constituency:
Urban/Rural Description:
Urban city and town
GSS LA Code:
Census Ward:
Middle Super Output Area (MSOA):
Sefton 008
Lower Super Output Area (LSOA):
Sefton 008C

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free School Meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.